Hello from a Newbie

Go down

Hello from a Newbie Empty Hello from a Newbie

Post by crozier on Sat Dec 31, 2016 3:46 pm

Hi Folks

I'm new to the brand and the forum. I've just bought a new 2016 Vitara SZ5 1.6 petrol AllGrip in Ivory/Black. The choice was more to do with economics than a desire to own a Suzuki. Let me explain that. I also own a 2014 Insignia VXR but it's a 25MPG 325 BHP beast, so for long haul work related stuff, I needed something more practical as a second car. There were some criteria that made the Vitara an automatic choice:

1 Petrol engine. Sorry, but even with long journeys diesels are making less economic sense. I think the break even mileage is about 20k before petrol loses out, and that's before we start getting to increases in fuel and road tax for diesels, which are on the horizon.

2 4x4. The VXR beast is a permanent AWD with E-diffs and a centre Haldex torque transfer. I've gotten used to the go-anywhere in any weather 4x4 format and I didn't want to give it up.

3 Toys. The more the better, but Sat Nav and Cruise control were a minimum

4 Price. I'm a pre-reg tart. I look at what's on dealer's lots, when they pre-registered and what the mileage is. Then I go round the showrooms a few days before Christmas and see what I can bargain for. Straight deal, no trade ins. I can't say what I paid for the above Suzuki with 4 miles on the clock and pre-registered in Jun 2016, but I've seen loads of 2nd hand 2016 Vitara front wheel drive models with 5-8k miles on the clock for £00's more than I paid.

I'd other target cars like the Jeep Renegade and Skoda Yeti but they couldn't tick all of the boxes above in the same way as the Vitara.

Am I pleased with my choice? Damn right! It's a superb machine and the list of extras included as standard on the SZ5 is astounding. The 1.6 petrol engine performs well as it has less weight to lug around than it's competitors and the level of comfort is good, if not luxury saloon standard.